//
you're reading...
Beauty Secrets Series, Product Review, Skincare

How to Rescue Dehydrated Skin while Travelling

It’s FINALLY SUMMER!! and with it comes all the the summertime goodness! Schools are closed, work is slowing and it’s the official season of vacation and study abroad! That means lots of time in cars, buses, trains, boats and planes.

Travel can be harsh on the skin; you’re staying up late packing, if you’re a last minute packer like myself; you’re eating crap, boozing, not getting enough rest cause vacation, hello! I get it, we all do it.

I find flying can be the most draining travel experience for me, more specifically, my skin. It is already weird and has a mind of it’s own already, you add the recycled air, zero humidity, the damn air conditioner and all the other things that come with being on a plane and my skin turns into a horror show. While I don’t do anything during the flight to care for my skin or pamper it besides drinking plenty of water to keep my body hydrated and sleeping, I make sure I give my skin some much needed love once I’ve landed.

Once I’ve landed, I usually moisturize my hands and face with my fragrance free hand cream. Ideally, once I’ve gotten to my room, I would wash my face and immediately apply a moisturizing mask but life happens and it never really pans out that way. So usually the next morning, I apply an oatmeal facial scrub to give my face, a nice, gentle exfoliation. Then I wash my face using my regular routine and after my face is clean, I apply an oatmeal mask for about 15 minutes. Wash the mask off then apply a facial oil, let it absorb and then apply my makeup. I usually do this for the first two days, after which my skin is back to what passes as normal.

St. Ives Oatmeal Face Scrub:

20150622_051915I love this mask because it has tiny grains, contains oatmeal, and is a gentle exfoliant. It’s also sulfate free, paraben free, hypoallergenic and fragrance free (least to me); another plus. And, yes I did say mask because it doubles as mask and a scrub but I like it best as a scrub. The average cost is $4.00 for the 6 oz tube, which is going to last for a very long time.  It’s very grainy in consistency and it doesn’t dry which is typical for oatmeal  masks. It does a great job of removing dead skin cells and impurities and leaves my face fresh and clean.20150622_051853 I do have to warn that you should only use a little at a time as using a lot or more than twice a week can leave your skin a little dried out, ironically. And for this reason, this is why I prefer to use this product as scrub.

 

 

 

 

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Oatmeal mask:

20150622_051645As far as oatmeal masks go, this is my favorite. I use this mask in the winter and spring to keep my skin hydrated and to keep it from becoming a flake, horror story (totally a thing). My damsel in distress skin is always being rescued by this product.  It repairs and restores your skin and keeps it supple and happy and glowy and beautiful.  It’s paraben, sulfate, phthalates free, it doesn’t really have much of an odor. 20150622_051614It’s a little gunky but it’s a miracle in a tube. It comes in 0.75 oz  ($9.00) and 2.0 oz ($22.00) tube, both of which are within the travel oz allowance, it was made to be a travel tool. It contains oatmeal, shea butter and antioxidant booster ingredients. It’s just made up of wholesome, yummy ingredients for the skin in distress.

 

 

 

And for the facial oil, I use the Josie Maran Argan Oil , or if I have access to it, coconut oil, just a couple of drops and I’m all set. These two oatmeal products are the stars of my skincare routine when I fly, they never let me down. People with combination skin, dry skin, sensitive skin, oily skin, basically all skin types can use these products after a flight.

Happy Travels!!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

