//
you're reading...
Skincare

Eye Cream, Do you NEED it?

As someone in my late 20s and of the darker complexion, the topic of eye cream seems very mundane at best. I mean “black don’t crack” right? But then I got to thinking, why does eye cream even exist in the first place?

To do put it simply, the difference between an eye cream and a moisturizer is that it is usually a thicker formula than a regular facial moisturizer. Some eye creams are also specially formulated for issues such as dark circles, fine lines, and puffiness; and no it won’t get rid of them just diminish the appearance.

That being said, do you really need an eye cream? Some experts say you don’t, as there really isn’t much difference between an eye cream and a face cream; they’re a little thicker and specialized depending on the type you choose. It’s really a personal preference.

So who needs an eye cream?

  • people who love the aesthetic of using a separate cream for the eye.
  • if you’re using a fragrance face cream, opt for fragrance free eye cream for the delicate eye area
  • you use a face oil and terrified of getting milia in the eye area
  • you need targeted treatment for wrinkles, fine lines, puffiness, dark circles

So what should you look for when purchasing an eye cream?

When shopping for an eye cream you need to look for something that has the essential yummy ingredients skin needs:-

They’re going to have the standard things a great moisturizer contains:

  • Humectants- urea, glycerin, alpha hydroxy acids and dimethicone; these ingredients take the moisture out of the air, lock it into your skin and rejuvenate it.
  • Emollients-  lanolin, mineral oil and petrolatum; these ingredients fill in the gaps between the skin and fat cells.

Then you would have ingredients that would more target the issue of eyes:

  • Hyaluronic acid- attracts water to the skin and helps lock it in (helps smoothen fine lines/wrinkles);
  • Ceramides- repair and restore skin barriers;
  • Niacinamide- aids the production of natural ceramides (helps reduce redness)
  • Ascorbic acid (vitamin c)- fights free radicals, helps strengthen the walls of blood vessels; increase collagen production (helps fight fine lines/wrinkles; dark circles)
  • Phytonadione (vitamin k)- increase blood circulation, helps strengthen the walls of blood vessels (helps fight fine lines/wrinkles; dark circles)
  • Retinol (type of vitamin a): evens out skin tone, brightens skin, collagen, promotes new cell growth (helps fight fine lines/wrinkles; dark circles)
  • Chrysanthellum Indicum Extract: micro-circulation; neutralizes free radicals, anti-inflammatory (dark circles, puffiness, wrinkles/fine lines)

Note that the eye cream doesn’t have to include all these ingredients as many overlap in purpose.

I, personally started using an eye cream because I noticed my eye area was dry and that I started to experience dark 20150125_082758circles under my eyes and I wanted my eye skin to be just as healthy and radiant as the rest of my face. Which I suspect the reason my eye area was even dry to begin with, was because I had started using oil to moisturize my face and didn’t feel comfortable putting it my eye area. As for the dark circles, I suspect maybe the lack of the sleep and me rubbing my eyes/eye area as that motion breaks blood capillaries, which is turn produces dark circles. So yeah try not to do that.

Doing research I went to the drugstore cause there is NO WAY am I EVER going to pay $40 or more for a damn eye cream that’s going to have unnecessary ingredients in them. Which, let’s be honest, the drugstore ain’t that cheap either when it comes to eye creams, I actually saw one that was like $30 and the rest were in the $20 range. I looked around and I got the Cerave eye cream, which at the time was new, I believe I got mine in April 2014, and it cost me $14, the cost of a roller ball. Which I’ve tired different brands in the roller balls and those things are terrible, the last one I tried actually really tighten under my eyes and it was so cooling my eyes felt like it was in the cold.

Anyways, for the price you get a .05 oz which doesn’t seem like a lot but I’ve been using this eye cream since May and I have like 1/3 left so you do get your money’s worth. It’s fragrance free, it has all the yummy ingredients my skin needs and it also has extras for my issues which are dark circles and slight puffiness. My eye area looks better when I use this cream, it feels better and it really does help with the dark circles. I’ve also stopped myself from rubbing my eyes too often and I eat a lot of spinach, all of which do help in keeping dark circles to a minimum. I would definitely recommend this eye cream to someone who is looking for something basic for the eye area. If you don’t want to pay $14 for a tiny amount, opt for their Dry Skin cream, it’s mostly the same ingredients (minus the stuff for dark circles and puffiness). Some nights when I wash my makeup off, I apply the Cetaphil moisturizing cream all over my face, including my eye area. That’s also a great alternative to buying an eye cream; if all you’re looking for a simple moisturizer for the eye area.

And there you have it. Do YOU need an eye cream?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

