//
you're reading...
Skincare

Why Face Masks are a Beauty Must and How to choose yours.

I have a confession to make: I’m addicted to face masks and I hoard them. Eekk!!…. Sike! like that’s surprising.

But here’s a real confession, I actually tried to break my addiction by trying an experiment where I went THREE WHOLE  months without using a face mask. Now they say it takes 21 days to break or make a habit depending on how you look at it so I was a little extreme. Besides it’s summer, my skin actually behaves during the warmer seasons because it was made for the warmth, it gets a lot of yummy vitamin E and I drink a lot of water so it was the perfect time to do such an experiment.

At the end of the experiment, my face did  need a little pick me up because in the last month I was extremely stressed out. I learned that it was okay to pamper yourself once in a while by using a face mask and treat your skin right by helping it out by giving it a deep clean. Because you don’t want your skin to depend on a mask but you also don’t want it to get to the point where it’s in a dire need of any and everything that will solve whatever dire state of blemishes it has become.

I’m not going to give up on face masks, I’m most certainly going to regulate however, how often I use them, based on the season, my current lifestyle, and the need the skin exhibits.  But I thought I would share some tips on how to choose a mask since the colder days are upon us which typically bring more stress and lifestyle changes for every woman.

When choosing a face mask, the following should be kept in mind: your skin-type, what issues are you currently having and most importantly, READ THE LABELS. In my highly bias opinion, I think anything that is Natural or “Almost Natural” is going to give you the best results without damaging your skin. The most expensive product is not necessarily the better product, ESPECIALLY when it comes to skincare products. Besides it’s better for you anyways.

Skin Type: 

  • Oily/Acne-Prone skin: people with this skin type will get best results by using a clay mask, which deep clean pores by removing excess oil and other impurities. Which in turn will also help prevent future breakouts.
  • Dry Skin: if you have dry skin, your skin craves moisture, you need a mask that’s going to replenish that moisture and last. Dry skin would benefit from using  hydrating masks which come in the form of a mask that never dries, sleeping mask, and paper masks.These masks leave skin looking plump, fresh, glowing and not mention soft and moisturized.
  • Combination skin aka the skin on crack: you’re in between and it’s a nightmare. However, you can have a lot of fun in your mask routine, I would suggest multi-masking. Say you’re oily in the t-zone and dry in the cheeks like me, you would apply clayto the t-zone and hydrating mask to the cheeks. Or you may want to try a mask that’s a “stress mask” like the one Freeman makes, which isn’t clay so it won’t dry out your less oily areas.
  • Sensitive skin: you just hate skincare products in general cause everything causes you to break out, a calming mask is your best friend. Look for key ingredients like “aloe” and “oatmeal”. Or you can make your own oatmeal mask at home which will clean and calm your pores at the same time.
  • Normal skin: you lucky bastard, your skin can take anything just remember to look for something that’s the most natural you can find, don’t wanna damage that beautiful skin of yours.

In Regards to looking for the EXTRAS, you want something for dull skin, helps fight wrinkles, etc. I say approach with caution, your main focus should be on your biggest skin issue, if you find something that does the extra in a mask, great, if not, stick to working it into anther step in your routine that won’t wash out in the sink after 10-20 minutes.

 

Now go, live and be masked.

20140727_17142320140727_17142620140727_171554

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

