//
you're reading...
Subscription Box

Beauty Box 5 “Unboxing” Six

Time for another Beauty Box 5 “unboxing” post. This month, my box arrived later than usual and I had a lot of hassle with BB5 and their emails telling me that there is a problem with my account because my gift subscription is up this month. Nevertheless, I got my box on Wednesday and was more than thrilled that this month my box was filled to the max with the brown worms.

The First thing I noticed in this box, did not please me much, was a perfume sample from Harvey Prince called “Hello”. I wasn’t pleased because I had gotten five perfume samples packaged the same way last week from Ulta. But to be honest, while I do love fragrances, I can do without these kind of samples. They’re always such a hassle to use and store but I digress. But I will say, this is the first time that I’ve received a perfume sample from this box, so I guess that’s kind of cool.

20140518_14150320140518_141529

The scent is a light, sweetie, floral smell with a bit of earthy. If that makes sense. It’s a nice weekend, summer scent. The only thing about this that is a turn off for me is the price, the full size, 5.7 oz bottle retails for $55.

The second thing I notice was also something I was not to pleased about, an H2O Plus Spa product. I wish that 20140518_141704BB5 featured more brands. In six months, I’ve received, a shower gel, a hand/cuticle cream and now a cleansing gel from this brand. That’s a bit excessive. From the first squeeze, it’s a little sudsy, the consistency is not too thick or liquidy, there’s not much of scent to it, dries on the skin without drying it out. So it seems like it would be good cleanser, I just wish the sample wasn’t so tiny. This is the first sample, I’ve gotten from this brand that was tiny. According to the description it’s oil free, contains sea salt and protects against free radicals and the environment. Full size of 120 ml retails for $18.

The next thing I noticed was a little surprising, maybe puzzling but during the summer if they work out, might become a staple in my purse. They are cooling body cloths from Ban. I’m appreciative that they included three to sample. Ten cloths retail for $2.97.

20140518_141557The fourth thing I noticed was something of course that makes me excited, eye make-up, eyeliner from Cattiva. I’ll be honest, the makeup that I’ve sampled in the last six months from BB5 have been mostly misses than hits but I mean who can past up an opportunity to try more makeup? I love that the liner is a twist turn, sometimes it’s a hassle to have to sharpen a liner especially when you’re in a hurry. However, twist turns do have the tendency to dry out so it depends on how you look at it. It glides on very smoothly and dries fast, and doesn’t smudge. Of course this is on my hand so we’ll see how it performs on my lids. Full size retails for $20.

20140518_14173320140518_141826

The last thing I noticed, totally made my night, because! it was a FACE MASK!! I’ve never in the six months that I’ve has this subscription received a face mask to sample. Better yet, it’s a natural sheet mask by Masker Aide, that’s very intriguing. I’ve never heard of this brand so of course, I’m definitely excited to see how it works. The mask I received, Detox Diva, cleanses, exfoliates and detoxifies the skin. It also says that it’s hydrating mask, it’s paraben-free, vegan friendly and 100 % biodegradable. One mask retails for $5.99.

20140518_141941Overall, I’m not to pleased with month’s box. However, I do like that BB5 introduced two different kinds of samples and didn’t cheat on my brown worms. It’s been six months and my subscription is up, BB5 has definitely improved and gotten better with the worms and the selection of samples. I think for now, I’m going to wait before going back to BB5 and see what other subscription boxes have to offer.

Special thanks to my friend, M for the my present, it’s been lots of fun trying out the different products, I won’t have otherwise have sampled.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

