//
you're reading...
Product Review

Does it REALLY do that?! Cleanser Faceoff

The following are two cleansers that have received rave reviews and have been hyped up by Beauty Gurus on Youtube and even morning tv hosts. They are also “natural” products, made without parabens, sulfates, and phthalates  while on the money side, they’re pricey. 

Boscia Purifying Cleansing Gel (retails for $26)20140309_171804

I started using this cleanser after I ran out of my Aveeno Clear Complexion Foaming Cleanser and it was part of the Boscia gift set I had brought myself for Christmas. I was super excited to try it because for some unknown reason I’ve always wanted to try this brand. The bottle included in the gift set was the full size of this cleanser so why not, right?

Packaging wise, I love the bottle, it has a long pump which I wish was easy to snap close for travel. The bottle itself is thick and sturdy so it won’t damage easily and it’s also small so it’s easy to use and to travel with, assuming you figured out how to close the pump. The cleanser is a clear, thick, odorless gel and as stated earlier, it claims to be natural (plant based ingredients), contains no yucky ingredients. It’s even gentle enough to be used on all skin types, including sensitive. And it is also a makeup remover.

I used this cleanser for two months and a couple of weeks and have yet to put much of dent in this bottle because you really only need a pump to wash your face. I have to honestly say that I will never use this product again, I wish I could return it but because I would like to keep some of the stuff that was in the gift set and have used some up or threw them away I can’t return it.

Let me first say that this is not a bad cleanser, it’s just most certainly not made for my skin type.The Phellodendron Extract and Willow Bark that are in this product dries my skin out like nothing I’ve ever seen. At first I really thought it had sulfate in it because why else would my skin be so dry after I washed my face. With this cleanser you would definitely need to use a toner afterwards to restore the pH levels in your skin. Does this cleanser do an effective job of cleaning your skin? Yes. Was it a great makeup remover? Yes. Did it keep my skin, clear? Sometimes. Did it keep it shine free? Probably. Would I recommend this to any skin type other than oily? A THOUSAND TIMES, NO! Is it worth the $26? what do you think?

Fresh Soy Face Cleanser (retails for $38)

20140327_201548

I decided to try this one because I had the travel size in a gift set I had gotten myself around Christmas. I wanted to see how this one compared to the Aveeno Clear Complexion Foaming Cleanser as they are both soy based cleansers and everywhere I turned people were raving about it.

This cleanser also claims it’s “extra gentle” enough for all skin types and it also contains amino acids, that aid in the cell turnover time. It claims it can be used as makeup remover and that it balances and tones your skin. Packaging wise, I’m not too crazy about it as it’s a squeeze tube, everytime I use this, I feel like I’m wasting product. But it’s ideal for traveling since you don’t have to worry about it spilling.

This gel is of a thick, yellowish, gel consistency, as for being fragrance free, well I guess it is fragrance free. Now ODOR, it sure as hell is not. First off, I have no idea how women can even stomach the smell to even be able to recommend and swear by this product. Oh my goodness, the first time I used this product, I thought I was going to vomit. It literally smells like cucumbers and chemicals, I’m not to fond of the cucumber smell in general but this is on another level. Maybe I have a sensitive nose, I don’t know. Just gross.

So after I convinced myself that it was still worth it to try it because it’s supposed to be a great cleanser, you would think it would have been worth it. WRONG. After using this product for five days, my face felt dirty and it had broken out MAJORLY, my skin hasn’t broken out this badly since I started my “mission”. This product DOES NOT clean your skin or remove dirt or any kind of impurities. And it actually dries my skin out, which is not good for a cleanser that claims to be gentle.This cleanser is TOO gentle and in regards to removing my makeup, I’m not that desperate or crazy enough to try and put this stuff near my eyes. And if my skin feels dirty from it not effectively washing the moisturizer off my face, I don’t even want to try makeup.

I apologize if you use this cleanser and you love it, I just can’t. I would NOT recommend this cleanser for anyone really; it is definitely not worth the $38.

Out of the two, obviously I would recommend the Boscia, but only if you have oily skin. Needless to say these two high end cleanser have been outshined by the drugstore cleanser, Aveeno, which retails for about $9.00.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

