//
you're reading...
Product Review

Misadventures in Moisturizer Hunting…Product Reviews

Since I’ve begun this Mission, it has been literally like mission impossible trying to find a good moisturizer for my skin. Maybe I should change that to a good cream moisturizer, I don’t know maybe my combination skin just can’t do it anymore. Like is it seriously THIS hard to find something that is going to add moisture back to my skin, lock it in, and maintain the moisture and not break me out during the winter from hell? Is that too much to ask for?

It’s been about six months since I’ve started this journey… whoa! time sure flies! Okay it’s been quite a while and have yet to find a moisturizer and believe me I’ve been searching all over, in fact I’m tired of searching, maybe I’ll just stick to oils since I seem to have more luck with them. But I love creams, I don’t know. So sad.

As mentioned in my previous post, I bought a gift set of the Boscia all star products that I’ve been wanting to try because it’s a natural skin care line and the ingredients are more along the line of what I’m looking for in a product. What I didn’t realize and probably should have done more research I guess, and as clearly stated on the packaging by the leaf logo is that Boscia is a plant based company. And I’m starting to realize that maybe when looking for natural skincare products, plant based products may not be my best friend, hell, not even a good acquaintance.

L-R: Eye Treatment, Day cream with SPF 30, NIght Cream

L-R: Eye Treatment, Night Cream, Day cream with SPF 30.

Enlivening Amino-AG Eye Treatment

I was excited about trying this product because I wanted to try a good eye cream. But here’s the problem, this cream is not, at least I hope not, is not targeted towards my age demographic. The back says that it’s a gel-cream that nourishes, firms,and diminishes puffiness and dark circles. I really only need an eye cream that is gonna moisturize and maybe reduce puffiness but that’s not a common issue with me.

It’s an opaque white gel, feels like a cream with lots of water when you rub it between your fingers. Because it is a plant based product, there is a light fragrance, I can’t quite pinpoint what the scent is, but I’m really not a fan, however, it does fade. It absorbs quickly into the skin, however, I don’t if it’s because I used too much or maybe my eye area is super sensitive; no clue but after using this product for two weeks, I did notice that I got Milia, directly under my eye. If those that don’t know, Milia is basically eye pimple, I’m going to go into technical details. And I did notice that my eye area was starting to look a little dark so yeah, I can not use this product. It is not for me, or anyone my age at all.

Self- Defense Vital Antioxidant Moisture with Broad Spectrum SPF 30

I’m torn about this, At first I really, REALLY loved this cream. There is no fragrance, it’s all the gross ingredients free, pH balanced and it has SPF. It looks like sunscreen but feels like you’re rubbing water on your skin. This is the first face cream I’ve tried that has SPF in it that doesn’t leave my face feeling and looking greasy. So props to Boscia for achieving that miracle. My skin actually looked good, almost plumper but it is a preventative cream so I guess that makes sense. I probably shouldn’t be using any anti-aging kind of products but it did wonders for my skin; that was until the temperature dropped below 35 degrees. My poor skin was so parched, this cream is definitely not good for winter use, maybe if you have… no it’s not made for winter. I might use in the Spring/Summertime, we’ll see.

Super-Charge Overnight Moisture Hydratant

This is basically the Self Defense cream without SPF, smells like plastic and is a richer formula. It doesn’t feel thick but this stuff is intense. It is a preventative cream and it is great to use in the winter time. HOWEVER. So this is a night cream, I used it like twice at night and wasn’t really feeling it, mostly because I really only wash my face at night when I wear makeup. It’s winter, my combination skin is not a fan of being washed twice a day. Naturally, when the Self Defense couldn’t hold up in the winter weather, I turned to using this during the day, makes sense right? Apparently that was wrong for my skin type, if you have dry skin, then go ahead but anyone else, just stay away.

First observation, a little bit of this stuff goes a long way. This cream is so rich that it clogged and made my pores bigger, which I don’t have a pore issue so I’m annoyed by that. It made me a little greasy/oily and of course, I got a some presents on my skin.

To say I’m disappointed would be an understatement. I’ve been in love from afar with this line, it’s tough realizing that it just may not be the solution to my skin problems, but now I know… sort of.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Misadventures in Moisturizer Hunting…Product Reviews

  1. Sorry to hear that. I’m in the same boat as I have acne prone skin, but this winter is drying it out worse than ever before. If I may offer one suggestion: stay away from Kiss My Face for very dry skin. Clogged my pores like crazy and I have noticed clogged pores with any other moisturizer in my life.

    Posted by V | February 13, 2014, 7:56 pm

Leave a Reply

