//
you're reading...
Product Review, Skincare

People ACTUALLY Cleanse their Faces with Oils???

I know you’ve seen them, the latest in skincare cleansing- Cleansing oils, and have probably been too scared to try them. Because well, they’re oils, maybe you’ve been brave enough to try oil as a moisturizer and love the results but that’s as adventurous you’re going to get when it comes to oils and your face. Because no way does it make any kind of sense that an oil can actually effectively cleanse your face without leaving residue that will cause breakouts.

I don’t blame you, I was skeptical too but my curiosity was stronger.

SO…What are Cleansing Oils? Cleansing Oils are mostly sold as a make-up remover; there are those that are targeted towards people with dry skin or oily skin as a daily cleanser, while others are a makeup remover and daily cleanser for all skin types.

OK…What makes Cleansing Oils so great? When it comes to makeup, they gently remove all of your makeup even waterproof mascara, without irritating your skin, tugging or leaving your skin feeling dry because the oil not only helps maintain your skin’s natural pH balance but it leaves your skin feeling moisturized. It ALSO removes all the dirt and impurities in your skin and helps maintain a clear complexion.

Righhhtt…How do I use cleansing oils? Pour a small amount into hands and massage onto dry skin for about a minute then wash off with warm water. If you’re taking makeup off (my preference is to) massage a small amount on your forehead, cheeks, and chin first, saving your eye area for last as you don’t want to get eye makeup smeared all over your face. Rinse with warm water.

My curiosity has led me down the path of exploring oils as makeup removers, the following are the two products I’ve tried so far. *Please note that my skin type in combination.

Josie Maran- Argan Cleansing Oil

This was my first and almost my last cleansing oil.

Josie Maran Cleansing Oil

Josie Maran Cleansing Oil -retails for $32

This product contains almond, safflower seed, and grape seed oils which cleanse, renew the skin, while the argan oil provides hydration, combats inflammation, hyperpigmentation, and excess production of sebum.  This product does not have parabens, sulfates, phthalates, GMOs, or triclosans. And is targeted to all skin types.

This oil is a little thick in consistency and slightly warms up while you’re massaging it into your skin. When water is applied, it turns into a milky substance rinses off easily.

However, I HATE this cleansing oil. First off the scent is too strong, second, since I bought this with the intention to remove makeup, it did a lousy job of removing my waterproof mascara and I wear, maximum two coats. Even after two applications of this oil to my eye area, it did not completely remove all of my mascara. Third, I did not like having that warm sensation in my eye area. Fourth, my face didn’t really feel clean after I rinsed the oil off, I felt like there was some residue left so I had to double cleanse with a regular cleanser. So, to say the least, I am very disappointed in this product as I am in love with the 100% pure argan oil moisturizer.

Boscia Makeup-Breakup Cooling Cleansing Oil

I’ve always to try Boscia products since the company makes paraben, sulfate, phthalate, artificial fragrance, color, gluten, and ethanol alcohol free products. I finally broke down during the holidays and bought the gift set with most of their products and travel sizes of their masks.

Boscia Makeup-Breakup Cool Cleansing Oil

Boscia Makeup-Breakup Cool Cleansing Oil – retails for $28

One of the first products I tried out of the set was the Makeup-Breakup Cooling Cleansing Oil. Which is made up of a mixture of various botanical oils, and has no parabens, sulfates or phathlates.  And is targeted to all skin types, including sensitive skin.

I LOVE this stuff! For one thing, it has a pump, yay! just a pump or two will do. When you massage the oil onto your skin, it almost feels like you’re rolling something soft and “cushiony” across your face. It removes makeup like no other makeup remover I’ve ever used (I’m not really loyal to makeup removers so I’ve tried quite a lot). When it comes to the eye area, oh my goodness, it removed all of my eye shadow and waterproof mascara. I didn’t even have raccoon eyes after completely rinsing my face. Which I don’t know about you but that is greatest miracle of all when it comes to makeup removal. My face felt so unbelievably clean and refreshed considering I had just used an oil product to wash my face. Because I am a little obsessive, I did double cleanse to make sure all my makeup was removed but there really isn’t a need to, this bad boy, removes makeup and cleanses your face effectively.

Needless to say, I will be purchasing the full size of this cleansing oil when my gift size is finished and will be trying more cleansing oils in the future.

Do you use cleansing oils? Which ones would you recommend?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

