//
you're reading...
Product Review

Product Review: Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil

Josie Maran 100% Argan Oil

Josie Maran 100% Argan Oil

There is no doubt that you’ve heard about Argan oil and the Josie Maran brand. I first heard about this product on Youtube, all the beauty gurus seem to be using and raving about this product. I became interested in using this product after my 9th moisturizer since this quest started failed (and no I’m not exaggerating) and decided to start experimenting with oils since cream based moisturizers were failing miserably against the cold weather we are experiencing this winter. Besides as memory serves, when I lived in Guyana I used to put pure coconut oil on my face and it was fine. I gravitated towards Argan oil because it was the easiest oil to obtain and it has many benefits.

Packaging: I loved that the packaging was simple and to the point, shows that Josie is confident in her product. And more importantly there isn’t an ingredients list because it’s as stated 100% pure Argan oil. I thought the dropper was a great idea for the consumer to be able to get the oil without causing a mess. However, this particular dropper is poorly made, every two weeks or so the rubber top pops out of the rim and you have to force it back in which results in getting oil over your hands and wondering if you put it back correctly.

Size and Price: Because I wasn’t sure whether or not I would like this oil and whether I would have a skin reaction, I opted to get the travel size version of this oil from Sephora. Which is where this oil can be found, I would say exclusively but I saw that QVC was running a special on this oil and gift sizes during the holidays and I think I also saw this on Amazon but if you want to physically buy it, Sephora is the place. The prices are as follows: travel size (.5 oz) – $14; regular size (1.7 oz) – $48; deluxe size (4.0 oz) – $96.

What is Argan Oil/Benefits: Argan oil is obtained through extracting the oils from the Argan tree nut/kernels. The Argan trees are found primarily in Morocco. This fact worries me a little from a eco stand-point. These trees are limited, the process used to extract the oil takes a while, and the oil has a limited shelf oil of 3-6 months but there is now an even higher demand of this oil since the West discovered it and that could only lead to devastation but I digress.

There are many health benefits of this precious oil, it can be used on the body, the hair, on nails, as well as many health benefits. But since this is a skincare blog, I will only focus on the benefits in regards to facial skincare. Argan oil is rich in vitamin E, omega-6 fatty acids and linoleic acid,  omega-9 unsaturated fatty acids and vitamin A,  and contains 620mg of trocopeherol. All of these nutrients amounts to anti-inflammatory, anti-aging, anti-oxidants, pH neutralizing/balancing, and moisturizing properties for your skin. This makes Argan Oil, a great moisturizer, great for maintaining the skin’s elasticity, great for wrinkles, great for under eye circles, for balancing the skin, clearing acne and dark marks.

About Josie Maran: “100% Pure Argan Oil is first cold pressed to ensure the best quality, highest-grade oil. It is housed in a recyclable glass bottle and purchased from women’s cooperatives in Morocco to support their social and economic welfare. These cooperatives work within a UNESCO biosphere reserve that ensures the protection and reforestation of Argan trees.” – taken off the Sephora website

My Experience: I got this oil mainly because I needed a good moisturizer for my skin, what I didn’t really expect, was for dark marks/acne scars to clear up and for my skin to improve as much as it did. This oil doesn’t leave your face looking greasy or does it feel greasy, it absorbs pretty quickly, you don’t need to put a lot on, I usually use two-three drops for my face and neck. I love how radiant my skin looks after I apply this oil to my skin. The only side-effect for me is that I’m a very emotional person so for whatever reason, if I happen to cry this oil stings the hell out of your eyes, so I won’t really suggest using this oil as an eye cream which is what I was also using it as.

One observation I made, while I was in Guyana which is a tropical country, the oil kind of left my skin kind of oily and shiny looking on the forehead so in the Summer-time, or in warmer climates, the “light” version of this oil might be more ideal. Also now that the temperatures here have been below freezing since I’ve gotten back, my skin looks like it still needs more moisture, so this oil probably needs to be combined with a cream based moisturizer or another oil for frigid winter days.

I’ve been using this oil for six weeks now and I’m a little disappointed that my little travel version oil is almost done, I probably have enough for two more weeks. So I guess a travel size lasts about two months, when it’s finished I’m not sure I will buy a full size of this oil, at least not right away. I want to try out other oils but I would definitely recommend this product to anyone with acne-prone skin, combination skin, oily skin, normal skin, looking for anti-aging moisturizer.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

