//
you're reading...
Subscription Box

Beauty Box 5 “Unboxing”

Hello Guys,

This is my first “Unboxing” post and I’m excited to share it with you guys. My friend, M who happened to read my mind on what I wanted for my birthday, generously gifted me with a Beauty Box 5 subscription! Beauty Box 5 is a monthly subscription for cosmetics, each month members receive a box of five products selected by the beauty editor of Beauty Box 5. What’s great about this box is that it’s a mixture of luxury, commonly known brands, niche brands, eco-conscious, and vegan brands. Which come in the form of makeup, hair care, skin care, nail care, fragrances and beauty accessories. The cost of a monthly subscription is $12.

December 2013 Box- Naughty and Nice

December 2013 Box- Naughty and Nice

The box, featured above, is a pretty, little blue green color that comes with a description and a price card of each product as well as websites to where you can find the products and discount codes for some of the products. This month’s theme is “Naughty and Nice”, the description says the box “aims to kick old conventions to the curb and celebrate you. We know that the modern woman is many things so we want to give you a little bit of everything, including romantic eye shadows, alluring glosses, and fail safe moisturizers.”

NYX "Love in Rio" palette

NYX “Love in Rio” palette

The first thing that caught my eye was the NYX “Love in Rio” Palette, I LOVE eyeshadows so it totally made sense. I’ve never heard of NYX but I don’t claim to be make-up expert. The description says that it’s a matte with a hint of shimmer. Shimmer it is for sure, however it’s not very pigmented, so that’s very disappointing. I’m not too crazy about the blue eyeshadow either. Not really sure I’ll use but I’ll stick it in my makeup bag anyways.

OFRA- sultry

OFRA- sultry

The second thing I grabbed with the OFRA “PLUMPER” sultry lip gloss. I LOVE this lip gloss. I’ve never heard of OFRA but this gloss goes on smooth like a lip polish, it’s not sticky, it doesn’t have a funky smell, and the color is great. My only complaint about the tube is that it makes it hard to squeeze the gloss out. This gloss retails for $12.95.

Body Drench- Hemp

Body Drench- Hemp

The next product I picked up was the Body Drench Moisturizing Lotion “hemp”; according to the description card it’s a moisturizer and aromatherapy in one. I’m not really sure why you would need a lotion with aromatherapy aspects in it but okay. To be honest, I was a little scared of trying this product, the puke green color is not really inviting and the smell, how to describe the smell. It smells like the green jolly ranchers, I’m not really a fan of jolly ranchers so I don’t care for the scent at all. To the touch, it feels like you’re rubbing water into your skin, which I guess is a good thing for a lotion and by association it’s non-greasy. However, it doesn’t feel very silky smooth on the skin but it’s very moisturizing. This product retails for $8.99 and can be found at bodydrench.com.

Clear and Clean- Morning Burst Hydrating Gel

Clear and Clean- Morning Burst Hydrating Gel

Next up, Clean and Clear’s Morning Burst, Hydrating Gel Moisturizer. I’m excited about this product because I’m on the hunt for a great face moisturizer. I’m a little disappointed that this product has three parabens in it and it’s scented. I know I can’t avoid parabens completely but if that’s the preservative the company is choosing to use, I would rather it be one at the most. The scent is very citrusy, I can’t pin point what it is but I know I’ve smelt it before, the card says it’s cucumber and mango… I’m not too fond of the scent. It feels and looks like a gel, but a little more watery, goes on smooth and leaves a silky smooth feel. I will use this sample but I’m not too sure I’ll purchase the full size.

Every Beauty Flexible Foot Smoother

Every Beauty Flexible Foot Smoother

Last on the list, is a disappointment for me as in I can’t this product. The Every Beauty Foot Smoother retails for $4.99 and is very flexible and can be used on the feet, knees and elbows. Now I don’t know what kind of elbows and knees you guys have but I won’t suggest using this product on them, the one I got feels like very coarse sandpaper. Since I have baby soft feet, I will be giving this product to my mother.

Overall, I’m a little disappointed in this month’s box, I’m not really sure the products really fit the theme well and I was expecting a little more out of my first box, especially for a Christmas themed box. The products in the box, total retail prices come close to $40 so you are getting your money’s worth in that sense.

*(please excuse the photo quality in this post)

Discussion

One thought on “Beauty Box 5 “Unboxing”

  1. I love that morning burst gel. It’s the best!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    Posted by Must Have Boxes | December 18, 2013, 3:48 pm

Leave a Reply

