//
you're reading...
Mission

Breakdown in 1, 2, 3…

October 22nd… I was in the bathroom after work, looking at my shiny, blotchy, tired, blemished face and lost it. I’ve had enough, at the ripe age of 25 years old, my skin had a right to not be hurt by harsh chemicals, a right to breathe, and most importantly, it had a right to be beautiful.

I marched down to CVS and bought the Aveeno Clear Complexion Foaming Cleanser, went to Sephora and bought the manual face complexion brush they make in their brand and Lush for the Grease Lightning serum.  Got home, trashed all my face products and bagged recently purchased products to return. I also kept my Anti-Stress mask because it wasn’t harsh on my skin and worked for my skin.

I also made a promise to myself, I was going to:

  1. Follow the instructions on the products for the first two weeks and see how my skin responds.
  2. Stick to these products for at least a month.
  3. Pay attention to my skin.
  4. Respect my skin.

I made a morning routine:

  1. Wash face with cleanser
  2. Moisturize with a good moisturizer (have yet to find a good one, my poor skin)

I made a night routine:

  1. Wash face with cleanser AND the complexion brush
  2. apply serum to troubled areas.
  3. moisturize with a good moisturizer (the aim is to have the same one I used in the morning at night, no high maintenance over here)

I made a weekly routine that would be used at night or late afternoon on the weekend :- twice a week or once a week depending on how my skin looks, use anti-stress mask or a hydration mask (use mask before application of serum).

My friend, B had also sent me an article (“Sleep and your skin”by Shelley Burns) that talked about the effects of sleep on our skin. I know sleep is important for our growth and health but I never thought sleep also affected our skin. Then again I didn’t know that stressed out person = dehydrated skin.

According to the article, when we get little sleep our bodies starts producing Cortisol which is a stress hormone. When our bodies produce a high amount of this hormone, it breaks down the production of collagen which leads to tired looking skin. Lack of sleep leads to a lessen production of Melatonin which is a sleep hormone. It also leads to a decreased production of Growth hormone which is needed to repair and re-hydrate the skin. A lack of the two combined leads to dullness, dryness and oh my wrinkles and fine lines!

So I decided I’m also going to:

  1. Try and stay hydrated by drinking large amounts of water and coconut water.
  2. Try and get more than five hours of sleep. Every hour counts right?
  3. Try to not be so stressed cause yikes!

I usually eat healthy but sometimes I go through times when I just want to eat crap and I think that’s okay. So that doesn’t get added to the list of improved behavior. A lot of changes yes, extreme? not really so why not, nothing else was working right?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

